Empty Shells

Everyone’s an empty shell, I’m starting to think I’m one too.

I yearn for something more but shy away from what’s in front of me.

I’ll pick at a bad tooth forever but never go to the dentist

cus I can’t stand the thought of someone under my skin

I have grandeur thoughts of a bigger life but never save the change,

Always worried about what’s on the menu.

What happened to the frequencies ?

Your smell still lingers in the tips of my hair and I still can’t shake these metallic tears

and a and b and c?

Are we all just really, really empty shells with no purpose or words to tell?

I weighed the cons and pros

Or however the fuck it goes,

I thought I was doing

you one good.

But we’re all just empty shells, aren’t we?

I shouldn’t have taken that dropper under my tongue when I was 17, cus now things that were never, are exactly what they seem.

I think in circles and charts, but nothing really leads to an end.

Nothing really seems to matter when your sitting for a spin.

Who are we but empty shells, you see.

But do see what I see or is it just me?

The more I breathe, the more I lose my breath

Because if I’m not breathing you, I’ve got nothing left.

Dancing under dim lights, take me by the hip and unwind me.

I want to forget the weights of the world and only you’ve got the grip to fade my sight.

Cus I’m just an empty shell, pour in your light.

I’m an empty shell, pour in your light.

One thought on “Empty Shells”

Leave a comment